Hello Everyone!

My name is Justin Shreve. I’m currently living in my hometown of Kent, Ohio which is in the eastern time zone (UTC-5/-4). I have just finished my freshman year at Kent State University where I’m majoring in Computer Science and minoring in Web Design & Programming.

This is my second year as a WordPress & Google Summer of Code Student (you can read more about my first project on last year’s Summer of WordPress blog), and I’m very excited to be a part of the GSoC again. My project this year is a suggestions/ideas theme that could serve as a potential replacement for the current WordPress ideas forum. The theme will include new features such as a front end WYSIWYG editor, a +1/-1 voting system, and moderation improvements. I also have two awesome people as my mentors: Jane Wells and Andy Skelton, both of whom I’m very excited to work with.

Here’s a snippet of the official abstract:

The current WordPress Idea Forum is a useful and necessary way for the WordPress project to receive feedback and accept feature requests from the WordPress user-base. However, there are certain features that could be improved and refined to make the forum even more effective. Just as P2 impacted Automattic positively by allowing instant collaboration on posts and topics, I believe a new specialized “ideas” theme would foster user-base collaboration on ideas in the Idea Forum.

As a side note: I will be attending WordCamp Chicago and WordCamp Columbus this summer. If anyone is from around Chicago or Columbus, or wants to make the trip there, we should try to meet!

I also want to say good luck to all the students. All the proposals here look awesome, and it should definitely be a great summer.

My full scope for the suggestions will be up shortly @ https://gsoc2010.wordpress.com/justin-shreve-suggestions-theme/

(The orginal proposal is available @ http://justin.wordpress.com/2010/04/01/gsoc-proposal-specialized-theme-for-ideas-feedback/).