This week I have been working on yet ano…

This week I have been working on yet another code rewrite.  Perhaps I should think of these “rewrites” actually just as refactoring sessions, though I have tended to revamp the entire callstack each time.  Still, I am satisfied with the direction it has gone in.  The major change is that classes now encompass the segmentation youd expect to see in a theme file (e.g. categories, tags, posts, etc).  This makes a lot more sense as an API for other plugins to just have 1 task file.  Hook events are now thought of more as notices, where a display event may respond to WP’s default hooks or to task-specific hooks.  I must admit, I need to carefully plan what I plan to produce for the end of term.  There are a lot of features, for instance user specific tasks, which will just fall outside the scope with the way I’ve reconsidered the role of tasks.  That is, because tasks are now used much more as context-driven suggestions, keeping a separate priority queue for each user may prove out of the feasible scope.  Still, I want to see this through to what the system is supposed to be.  I know GSoC specifies that students should offer a plan for continued support, which I hope can accommodate these items.

You can check out my page for a little more updated info.